Different seasons of Bengal can be clearly distinguished from one another. In books and common conversation we come across the names of six seasons , namely spring, summer, monsoon, early autumn, late autumn and winter. We begin with spring because it is a charming season. It is fragrant with newly blooming flowers; the trees in this season look gorgeous with their wealthy of fresh green leaves. Trees echo with the twittering of birds, meadow swear a fresh look with their carpet of new grass. Spring is followed by summer the hottest period of the year. It extends from April till mid-June. Usually the days are hot humid. The oppressive heat of the days relieved by occasional thunder-storm. But summer in Bengal is famous for its ripe, juicy and luscious fruits like mangoes, lichis, water melons etc. Summer is followed by the rainy season of monsoon. Dark clouds overcast the sky and men feel relieved as rains come down, filling ponds and lakes and the rivers to their brim. A failure of monsoon means failure of crop. That is why a good monsoon is vital to the economy of the land. But too much rain also spells disaster. Monsoon is followed by autumn, a season of deep blue sky and the most happiest Bengali festivals. Durga Puja, Kali Puja, Bhratri Dwitiya- all the happiest festivals in the Bengali calendar occur in this season. Then comes winter. In this season the weather isĀ  cool and dry and the markets abound in a variety of fresh and green vegetables like cabbages, cauliflowers, brinjals, tomatoes etc. Indeed in Bengal the beauty and charm of each and every season can be clearly perceived and enjoyed.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on StumbleUpon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Coder says:

    Six Season in Bengla months are given bolow:

    grishmo (summer): boishak and joistho months (14 april to 15 june)
    borsha (rainy season): aashar and srabon months (16 june to 17 august)
    shorot (autumn): vadro and aarshin months (18 august to 17 october)
    hemonto (late autumn): kartik and oograhayon months (18 october to 16 december)
    sheet (winter): poush and magh months (17 december to 12 february)
    boshonto(spring): falgun and choitro months (13 february to 13 april)